Campaign for Equal Justice

The annual Campaign for Equal Justice helps to provide necessary funds to MALS.  The legal community supports this vital fundraising effort as do area corporations, foundations, and concerned citizens.

Memphis Area Legal Services, Inc. turns potential tragedies into justice for those who can’t afford legal services but its resources are insufficient to meet the overwhelming legal needs of those who qualify for services. This is why we need your help.  Read about some of our client stories.

You can contribute online:


Or mail Contributions to:

MALS Campaign for Equal Justice
22 N. Front St., 11th Floor Memphis, TN 38103

Campaign Donor Levels

Donors to the Campaign for Equal Justice will be recognized by the following category designations in the annual Honor Roll advertisement and during the Law Week reception sponsored by the Memphis Bar Association:

Visionaries:  Contributions of $30,000 or more

Champions:  Contributions from $15,000 to $29,999

Barristers:  Contributions from $10,000 to $14,999

Advocates:  Contributions from $5,000 to $9,999

Guardians:  Contributions from $1,000 to $4,999

Leaders:  Contributions from $400 to $999

Supporters:  Contributions from $150 to $399

Friends:  Contributions of $149 and below

Gray Knights:  Senior Attorneys (a minimum donation of $150 is required)

Difference Makers:  Law firms of 2 or more attorneys contributing $350 or more per lawyer (a minimum firm donation of $1,000 is required)

View donors to the 2017 Campaign for Equal Justice.

Financial contributions made to Memphis Area Legal Services, Inc. are tax-deductible in accordance with Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Service Code.

2019 Campaign for Equal Justice Campaign Cabinet

Campaign Chair
Michael G. McLaren
Black McLaren Jones Ryland & Griffee, P.C.

Large Firms
John Golwen and Shepherd D. Tate – Co-Chairs

Small/Medium Firms
Sean Hunt

Carlos Bibbs ad Mike Fletcher – Co-Chairs

Nicole Grida – Chair

Gray Knights
Bruce Smith – Chair

University of Memphis Law School Faculty
Daniel Schaffzin – Chair

Young Lawyers
Nicole Berkowitz and Danielle Woods – Co-Chairs

Special Events
Lauran Stimac – Chair, Autumn Chastain, Annie Christoff, Laura English, Honorable Janice Holder, Marlinee Iverson, Keating Lowery, Kristine Roberts, Danielle Woods, Kim Weiss, and Wendy Sumner Winter


Board President
Kristine L. Roberts

Chief Executive Officer
Richard A. Cullison

Chief Development Officer
Rita Gibson Rayford

Justice For All Ball Host Committee Chairs

Kathy and J.W. Gibson